The Ian Laing Prize is an annual student prize of $1,000 awarded by the Hydrological Society in honour of Mr Ian Laing MSc BEng (1948 – 1986), a founding member and past chairman of the Society.

The prize is being offered to high achieving final year undergraduate, honours, or masters by coursework students at any South Australian university who have completed a project or research thesis in a water-related discipline. Accepted disciplines are: hydrology, hydraulics, meteorology, hydrogeology, marine or freshwater ecology, aquatic chemistry, geomorphology, oceanography, water law, water resources planning and management.

Applicants will be assessed on the basis of:

  • Demonstration of a rigorous standard of research;
  • Academic performance; and,
  • Interview and presentation skills.

The successful applicant must be prepared to deliver a talk at one of the Technical Meetings of the Society on their project topic. In addition the winning applicant will be required to prepare a short paper for publication in the Society Newsletter.

Further information along with requirements for applications and submissions details: Hydsoc Ian Laing Prize 2017.  Applications for the 2017 Ian Laing Prize will close at 5 pm on Friday, 15 December 2017.

Past Winners

2011 Hayden Tronnolone University of Adelaide Derivation and Solution of the Equations for Fluid Flow in Helical Channels
2010 Alison Miller University of Adelaide Effects of Large Roughness Elements in Low Flow Conditions.
2009 Fiona Paton University of Adelaide Optimising the reliability and sustainability of the Southern Metropolitan Adelaide Water Supply System